Paul Hornung

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

“Do you remember your father?”

“Yes.”

“Really?”

“Yes.”

“What do you remember most about him?”

“Paul Hornung.”

“What?”

“All he ever talked about was Paul Hornung. I have no idea what my father’s birthday was, but I know Paul Hornung scored five touchdowns against The Colts on December 12, 1965.”

3 thoughts on “Paul Hornung

  1. Hey, GB, I went to ND when Paul Hornung was THE man, a really nice guy who had to play with my classmates who weren’t so hot. THUD!

    That took a half-hour? It must have been devoted to the 5-td research, eh?

    Like

  2. My first roommate in college family owned the very nice apartment buliding in Chicago where Paul Hornung lived while he played for the Packers. When he moved out he left his NFL MVP trophy and curtains. We had the curtains in our dorm room. My older brother, a Packers fan back then, used to sleep with the curtains as a blanket.

    Like

Leave a Reply

