Astoria

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

“How did you meet daddy?”

“I went to an Indian restaurant with my boyfriend at the time, who was studying modern culture and media in college. He was writing his thesis on the important role of Marxism in Northern Exposure. Your father bumped into our table and my boyfriend at the time told him to fuck off. So your father beat him up in front of the whole place. I fell in love on the spot. I could hear my own heart beating over the sound of my boyfriend at the time’s shrieking and groveling.”

“Do you keep in touch with your old boyfriend?”

“He contacted me after your father won the Oscar. He was working in a vegan restaurant in Astoria and kept crying. It was really funny.”

Leave a Reply

