Strikes One Through Seven

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

“I’m not trying to be rude, but this is a complete waste of time. I could be at home. I could be in class. I could be doing homework. I could be doing things I’ve been doing for years. I mean, look around, there are 4 people here who are actually paying attention; 4 people who are faking it; and 8 people who just don’t even care. I could be doing anything, but this is a waste of time. I could be fixing up my house. I could be fixing up my windshield. I’m here.”

“Sir, this is a pre-trial intervention on your behalf.”

“Well, I don’t see why I have to be here.”

“We’ll get security. Wait here.”

“Aw, you guys are gonna report me, aren’t you?”

Leave a Reply

