Smoking Crack At Gunpoint

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

There was no doubt in my mind that the coffee shop near the bus station and the coffee shop with the bookstore were connected by a single, elongated tunnel. I looked for a hatch in the men’s room, but was asked to leave by The Woman With The Switch On Her Forehead. She either controls the tunnel or is controlled by the tunnel. There is no way to tell.

I mailed “anthrax” – which was actually Gold Bond Medicated Body Powder – to the town administrator. For this harmless demonstration of civil disobedience, I was sentenced to 8 years probation and remanded to live with my brother and his wife.

Carlene cried every night I was there. Not in front of me… honestly, she is too polite for that, but when they were in bed. I could hear them through the walls.

I lived in the rec room. Mostly Xbox and the websites I was allowed to look at.

Also, I had to use Carlene’s phone. She was super cool about it, and I love her to pieces, but she was obviously there to make sure I wasn’t calling Becky or the other people at the coffee shop.

Carlene wears eyeglasses now. I don’t know if they have the same electronic properties as her old contact lenses. Obviously, I can’t ask her that.

One thought on “Smoking Crack At Gunpoint

Leave a Reply

