I Danced With A Zombie

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

Tricia looked really great. She had a short, sexy dress that looked like it was made out of red wine. Her skin was so pale and her hair was long and black. She looked like a vampire, but really she was a zombie.

Not like a zombie you would see on TV. Tricia was a voodoo zombie. She had tried out for the cheerleading and Mrs. Wentworth, who knew Tricia’s mother, had put a curse on her. Mrs. Wentworth was a mambo, which nobody knew until the trial.

Tricia’s pretty blue eyes were permanently crossed, and she could only walk backwards, which made the prom kind of a hassle. Her parents asked me to take her; we’d been friends for a long time.

She grunted. A lot.

She didn’t like riding in cars, so we didn’t bother renting a limousine. We drove over in my dad’s Prius. She rocked back and forth in her seat and gnawed on the dashboard.

Like I said about walking backwards; I had to help Tricia up the steps to the Beau Soleil Inn.

She really liked loud music. The more drums, the better. She waved her arms around and spat blood. Cleared the floor a few times.

I went off to college in September. My mom told me that these guys from Haiti repeatedly try to steal Tricia and put her to work in a cane field. Her parents had to call the police.

I think she got a job at Five Guys.

Leave a Reply

