Daytime

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

He sat next to a stream. Pines trees thick along the banks. It was morning, most likely. He heard insects and birds. A mist of sound. Cool air.

God spoke to him.

“I love you, and I’m glad you’re with me,” God said softly.

He looked up into the pines, but he could not see God.

“Will everyone be all right?” he asked God.

“They will,” answered God.

“Will they remember me?” he asked.

“They will,” answered God.

“What will they remember about me?”

God did not hesitate:

“Your friends will remember the time you hyperventilated and had to go to the hospital in the middle of Pulp Fiction. Your family will remember the freaky obscene phone calls you made in high school, and how you insisted it wasn’t you.”

“I didn’t make obscene phone calls.”

“I’m God.”

“Fine. OK. You’re right.”

”

He was quiet, and he noticed that no shame or fear rose up in his stomach.

“This is Heaven.”

Leave a Reply

