Exes

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

I asked Marie if we were exchanging gifts at Christmas, this year. She said she would be putting a curse on my colon, but, if I wanted to get her something, that would be fine.

As soon as we hung up, I called her sister, Chloe, to ask why Marie was still so angry. Chloe was obviously not in the mood to talk to me, which is, perhaps, understandable, but I respect her civility. She was always my favorite.

Chloe was heading over to her Mom’s place, to pick up Reese and Ivor. I asked what time she thought she’d be arriving, so I could call her back and we could continue our conversation.

She told me not to call her, but, instead, to wait a few days and to call Marie, again. I informed her that I wouldn’t be calling her sister until I understood why she was so angry with me, and that I was depending on her, Chloe, to assist me in this.

Chloe said she wasn’t ‘completely prepared’ to help me. Those were her exact word, ‘completely prepared.’ I asked when she felt she would be at least ‘partially prepared’ to continue our conversation. I would be willing to settle for even that.

Chloe started making the “I’m Going To Cry” sound that she and her sisters emit when things aren’t quite going their way. I wonder who they picked that up from? Their mother usually went straight to yelling at me.

As soon as she hung up, I called Marie to give her my side of the story.

Leave a Reply

