Thursday

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

I know who killed those people.

I’m surprised no-one else has figured it out.

I made a chart in my house. It took 11 years to get it right. I bought bulletin boards and note cards from JOB LOT. String, too.

I paid in cash.

I connected the cards and the dots and I tied it all up with the string.  Connections.

I know who killed those people.

I went to the same bars and I sat at the same gas pumps at the same convenience stores as those people. It happened the way I said it did.

I see the murderer every so often. He moved away to New Hampshire. He visits his hometown, my hometown, every few years.

I don’t know if he knows. I don’t think he knows. Otherwise, I would be dead.

I won’t tell the police. What the fuck have they ever done for me besides tell me to stay out of the public library? I hate those bitches at the computer station. I brought my books back ahead of schedule and still they called the cops.

Leave a Reply

