Joey

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

“Why are there crumbs in my pouch?”

Mom Kangaroo whistled for Joey, who was in the living room, bouncing around on the couch. His friend, Zip, the chimp, would soon be visiting. They would hop around the backyard and climb trees.

Joey ricocheted into the kitchen.

“Yeah, Mom?”

“Joey, have you been eating graham crackers in my pouch, again?”

Joey looked embarrassed, and stared at his enormous feet.

“Yeah, I have. Last night, when you were watching Poldark.”

Mom Kangaroo put her hands on her hips.

“Well, now, I have to vacuum out my pouch. I’ve told you not to do that.”

“Sorry.”

“No more eating graham crackers in the pouch?”

“OK.”

Mom Kangaroo went back to the cud salad she was preparing.

“What time is Zip coming by?” she asked.

“Any minute,” answered Joey, excitedly.

Just then, Zip, Joey’s best friend, arrived though the kitchen window.  He settled on top of the cupboards.

“Hello, Mrs. Kangaroo. Hey, Joey.” Zip smiled and waved.

“Hello,” The Kangaroos answered.

“You remodel the kitchen?” asked Zip.

“No, we just cleaned off the linoleum. Needed it,” answered Mom Kangaroo.

“Looks great!”

“Thank you, Zip.”

“Hey, Zip!” exclaimed Joey. “Wanna play on the pine tree? You can climb up and I’ll catch the cones?”

“Sounds great!”

“You boys be careful,” admonished Mrs. Kangaroo.

“We will!”

Joey and Zip leapt out the window into the backyard.

After a few moments of quiet, Mrs. Kangaroo noticed that Adelaide, her daughter, had wandered into the kitchen.

“Can I get in your pouch and read?” she asked in her soft voice.

“That’s fine, dear. No candy, though.”

Leave a Reply

