Method Man

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

The Old Man sat in the reclining chair. He had lowered the volume on the television set.

“What is your favorite part about dying?” asked The Young Girl.

The Old Man though for a few moments. She could hear his breathing.

“I don’t have to make any plans. My brother’s wife doesn’t call me up and make me go to dinner with them, anymore, because she’s afraid I’ll cash in my chips in the restaurant. It’s freed up days and days of time. Last week, I read those James Bond books. Completely different than the movies.”

The Young Girl looked at the level lights on the recorder.

“My advice to you,” The Old Man said, “…give everybody five minutes. If, in five minutes they haven’t stopped talking or asked you a question, then they aren’t worth hearing, let alone listening to.”

One thought on “Method Man

Leave a Reply

