YMCA

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

“YMCA.  Can I help you?”

“Do you guys have a track?”

“We don’t, but there’s a quarter mile track across the street you can use.”

“How long is it?”

“A quarter mile. Four hundred meters.”

“For running?”

“Yes.”

“I can’t ride my bike on it?”

“No.”

“No?”

“No.  You can’t ride your bike on the track.”

“Are you sure?”

“…”

“I want to run on the track, but I have bad knees.”

“Yes?”

“I have bad knees. Can I ride my bike on the track?”

“No.”

“I have bad knees.”

“Where do you usually run?”

“I run on a track near my house, but it makes my knees hurt. The doctor says I shouldn’t run.”

“Well, I don’t know what to tell you.”

“So I can’t ride my bike on the track?”

“No.”

“Well, I want to run on the track, but I have bad knees. What should I do?”

“What do you mean?”

“Do you have a special place for people who have bad knees to run?”

“No.”

“Can I ride my bike on the track?”

“No.”

“The doctor says I have bad knees.”

One thought on “YMCA

Leave a Reply

