No Good Music

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

Dave was a huge Rush fan. When other kids talked about other bands, like Dead Kennedys or Run DMC, he tended to roll his eyes and walk away.

On Judgment Day, we could hear The Devil tearing the flesh from his bones from inside his own house. We were sitting in our TV room, across the street, and, clear as a bell, you could hear Dave’s breathless shrieks of pain and terror.

The Devil had a high-pitched, squeaky voice, and he mocked the lyrics to Subdivisions as Dave begged him stop ripping off his fingers.

My Father leaned over the card table towards my sisters and I.

“Good thing you guys liked Three Dog Night,” he said.

Leave a Reply

