You’ve Got A Thing

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

Big Guy asked us to go downstairs and find the box full of t-shirts. I went with Jessica. We found the box in about 10 seconds. It was right at the bottom of the stairs, underneath the light switches. “Maybe there are more shirts, down here?” Jessica sort of emitted. I knew what was happening. “No, I think there’s just this one,” I said. Jessica’s face went blank. She was confused. A few years ago, Jessica misplayed her keys in the office. She went looking for them. She found them inside of a minute. Just to be on the safe side, however, she kept looking for them. She was holding her keys in her hand, and she knew this, but she still kept looking for them. Just to be sure. Obsessive stuff. I brought the box of shirts upstairs and gave ‘em to Big Guy. Jessica spent about an hour downstairs, looking for another box. A box that didn’t exist. Just in case.

One thought on “You’ve Got A Thing

Leave a Reply

