The Back Of The Bus

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

Rudy and Moody sat in the back of the bus. They were both C-students.

“What are you doing this weekend?” asked Moody.

”I gotta be the judge at the talent contest at the church.”

”CYO?”

”Yeah. It’s in the church basement.”

”How did you get to be the judge?”

“I’m a judge.”

“Yeah?”

”I won the contest, last year. I jumped over a bunch of logs with my bike. Now, this year, I get to be a judge.”

“You jumped over logs?”

”On my bike. Yeah. They set up the logs in the middle of the stage and I jumped over them.”

”How’d you get the speed up?”

”They cleared out the wings of the stage.”

”Oh.”

Rudy and Moody were quiet for a long time. They half expected a fight to erupt somewhere on the bus. Two really fat kids, who they both knew, had been arguing all day.

“My mom’s going to be in that contest,” said Moody.

“The church one?”

“Yeah.”
”The one I’m judging?”

”Yeah.”

”I’m judging your mom?”

Moody didn’t answer.

“What’s she gonna do?” asked Rudy.

“Breakdancing.”

Rudy was quite for a few moments.

“What’s she gonna wear?”

Turns out there was a fight on the bus.

Leave a Reply

