Pomegranate

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

“…and I’ll take six slices of the turkey breast?”

”You want the regular turkey breast or the smoked?”

”Regular.”

”Wanna try a slice of the smoked?”

”No. No.”

”OK. Figured I’d ask. Sometimes we try new things.”

”Nah.”

”OK. Six slices?”

”Yes.”

”I tried a pomegranate, once. Everyone was telling me I should eat a pomegranate. I opened it up; it was all seeds.”

”Yeah. I liked pomegranates.”

”Everyone said I should try the pomegranate. They said I’d like it. I opened it up and it was all seeds.”

”Yep.”

”Yeah. I went on vacation with my sister and we were at the resort and they had fruit all over the table. They had pomegranates. My sister told me to try a pomegranate. I did. I opened it up with my knife. It was all seeds.”

“Yep. Here’s six slices.”

“I mean, it was all seeds. I opened up the pomegranate. Everyone was talking about how good they are, so I opened it up and it was all seeds. Just seeds.”

“Yep.”

“…”

“Anything else?”

”Could I have four slices of the honey baked ham?”

”Sure.”

”Do you like pomegranates?”

”Yeah.   I used to love ‘em, but I can’t eat them, now. It mixes with my heart medication. Pomegranates and pineapples.”

”Yeah. My sister loves them. She told me to eat one. I opened it up, but it was all seeds.”

Leave a Reply

