Anchor Store

Below you will find the results of my having challenged myself for a number of days to write a short story with a beginning and middle and an end inside of 30 minutes. Here is what I came up with. I hope you like it.

A man walks into an anchor store.

After a moment, a salesman approaches him.

“Can I help you?”

”Yeah. I want to buy an anchor.”

”Great. What kind of boat do you have?”

”I have an aircraft carrier.”

”Great. What class?”

”Nimitz class. Weighs about 97,000 tons.”

”That’s a big boy.”

”Sure is.”

”You take it out, a lot?”

“I take it out, fairly often. Looking to have a good summer. Maybe take it to Sebeago Lake…”

”…up in Maine?”

”…up in Maine, yep. Beautiful.”

”So, you got a roughly 100,000 ton Nimitz class aircraft carrier?”

”Yep.”

”Any planes on deck?”

”Nope.  Nothing.”

”Any crewmen?”

”Nope just me.”

”So it’s closer to 95,000 tons or so. Nothing to really make it too top heavy.”

”No. I didn’t want to give myself a headache.”

”I understand. You’ve got the right idea.”

“Any suggestions?”

”For anchors?”

”Yes.”

”I do, actually. I have two 30 ton anchors that would be just great for your aircraft carrier. They’re both floor models, so I can knock the price down, slightly. I’d also suggest two 2,000 foot lengths of chain, with each link weighing about 350 pounds or so.”

“Yeah, that’s what I figured. Sounds great.”

”Really sturdy stuff.”

”How much?”

”Um… like I said, the anchors are the display models, but the chains are brand new. Got those in earlier this week. I can let you have the whole package for about a hundred bucks. A little more; a little less. Somewhere in there.”

“OK. You guys deliver?”

”No. You’ll have to pick those up yourself.”

”Fair enough. My kid gets off work at six. What time do you close?”

”I’ll be here until 9PM. I’ll put aside the anchors and chains for you.”

”Fantastic. See you around 7PM.”

”Looking forward to it.”

”Bye.”

”Bye.”

Leave a Reply

